Education Awards 2018 - the winners

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.

The Union's Education Awards took place at Derby Theatre last Thursday evening; welcoming a guest list of over 500 staff, students, family and friends to celebrate the achievements of our incredible peers and colleagues.

The evening was an incredible celebration of student led excellence in learning and teaching, giving staff and students the opportunity to reflect upon all the achievements of the past academic year. Guests enjoyed performances from the Union of Students Musical Theatre Society, students Melanie Welaratne, Adam Betney and James Angelides, spoken word artist Silethokuhle Sile Sibanda and the University of Derby staff and student choir.

Here's a run down of all the winners and runners up:

  • Staff Awards:

Inspirational Teaching Award

Winner – Tracie Collett

Runner Up - Gavin Jinks


Lecturer of the Year - Arts, Humanities and Education

Winner – Gemma Marmalade

Runner Up – Barry Squires


Lecturer of the Year - Business, Law and Social Sciences

Winner – Karin Spenser

Runner Up – David Hicks


Lecturer of the Year - Buxton

Winner – Duncan Marson

Runner Up – Charles Spring


Lecturer of the Year - College of Life and Natural Sciences

Winner – Annabelle Boulay

Runner Up – Ian Turner


Lecturer of the Year - Engineering and Technology

Winner – Dani Harmanto

Runner Up – Ashiq Anjum


Lecturer of the Year - Health and Social Care

Winner – Simon Williams

Runner Up – Rachel Humphries


Lecturer of the Year - UDOL

Winner – Melanie Haughton

Runner Up – Nicholas Bowskill


Outstanding Support Staff of the Year

Winner – Tim Zijlstra

Runner Up – Kevin Heneghan


Outstanding Personal Tutor of the Year

Winner – Michael Townend

Runner Up – Mark Smith


College of the Year

Winner – Health and Social Care

Runner Up – College of Life and Natural Sciences


Commitment to the Student Voice

Winner – Philip Harris

Runner Up – Jen Allam


Exceptional Contribution to Education

Winner – Ian Whitehead

Runner Up – Derek Spalton


Mighty Module of the Year

Winner – Environment, Landscape and Place

Runner Up – The Sociology of Gender and Sexuality


  • Award open for staff and students:

Outstanding contribution to Welfare and Liberation Award

Winner – Sarah Barley-McMullen

Runner Up – Jacob Blatherwick


  • Student Awards:

College Rep of the Year

Winner – Juliet Marvin

Runner Up – Elizabeth Knowles


Part Time Officer of the Year

Winner – Sam Lebbon

Runner Up – Rose Jordan


College Star - Arts, Humanities and Education

Winner – Nuno Almeida

Runner Up – Kelly Davies


College Star - Business, Law and Social Sciences

Winner – Ellen Moss

Runner Up – Chloe Parker


College Star - Buxton

Winner – Dominic Wardle

Runner Up – Rosemary Allport


College Star - Chesterfield

Winner – Leigh Smith

Runner Up – Paula Gale


College Star – College of Life and Natural Sciences

Winner – Anna Downs

Runner Up – Eryk Gadomski


College Star - Engineering and Technology

Winner – Bradley Davis

Runner Up – Mateo Ceballos Querol


College Stars - Health and Social Care

Winner – Kimberley Hounsome

Runner Up – Fred Gough


Biggest Representative Win of the Year

Winner – BA Applied Social Work Student Mentors

Runner Up – Ellen Moss and Juliet Marvin


Representation Personality of the Year

Winner – Eryk Gadomski

Runner Up – Andrew Foulds


Site of the Year

Winner – One Friar Gate Square and Buxton

Runner Up – (no runner-up as we had joint winners)


Huge congratulations to all nominees, runners up and of course, winners. Well done, also, to all students who received their Colours awards. Thank you to everyone who nominated someone, our presenters, all the staff at Derby Theatre, University of Derby and Union of Students.


Photographs from the event can be found by following the links below:

Ben Martin (Union of Students Facebook)

Michael Rowlands Photography


Runners up certificates can be collected from the Student Voice team.



Media enquiries:

Heather Gunn, Marketing and Communications Manager 01332 592840



No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.