Education Awards - Your Winners

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.
Staff and Students sitting in a theatre during the 2019 Education Awards

What a year we have had –

  • Over 1000 reps registered with the Union
  • 40 Part Time Officers
  • Over 300 nominations for the Education Awards
  • Over 8500 votes on the Ideas Forum
  • 19,579 votes for the Union Elections
  • Student Forum events at all sites
  • 50 attendees to Summit

The Education Awards are time to recognise and rewards both students and staff members who have gone above and beyond in their roles to support others. We would like to say a massive thank you to all who has been involved in creating change!

This year was extremely hard to pick winners as every single person deserves a medal for their hard work and dedication over this academic year through all the positives and challenges, we have faced.

Award Runner-Up Winner
Outstanding Personal Academic Tutor of the Year Ian Baker Laura Fox-Lee
Peer Assisted Learning Leader of the Year Sarah Cooke Chris Winson
Peer Assisted Learning Academic Liaison of the Year Juliet Hogsden Emma Sharpe
Academic Society of the Year Biosciences Derby Occupational Therapy Society
Outstanding Support Staff of the Year Richard Clarke Jane Barker
Personality of the Year (Student) Emily Fisher Jade Nixon
Personality of the Year (Staff) Tim Zijlstra Dave Lewis
Part Time Officer (Education) of the Year Joseph Webster Jo Easom
Outstanding Contribution to Welfare and Liberation Sarah Barley-McMullen Su Wall
Part Time Officer (Welfare and Liberation) of the Year Angharad Evans Ashley Harker
College of the Year Health and Social Care Business, Law and Social Sciences
Outstanding Contribution to Sustainability Award (Student) Ella Wall Angharad Evans
Outstanding Contribution to Sustainability Award (Staff) Mark Faghy Briony Norton
Commitment to Student Voice Stephan Reiff-Marganiec Gulcan Garip
Inspirational Teaching Award Boris Ceranic Andrew Butterworth
Inspirational Student Award Hannah Brewin-Woodhouse Georgia Simmonds
Biggest Rep Success of the Year Adam Hopkins Matilda Rowland


Lecturer of the Year for Runner-Up Winner
Art, Humanities and Education Amanda Wallace Mark Smith
Business, Law and Social Sciences David Patton Rebekah Marangon
Centre for Contemporary, Hospitality and Tourism Iride Azara Leanne Hampson
College of Life and Natural Sciences Linda Birch Lottie Payne
Engineering and Technology Wayne Rippin Boris Ceranic
Health and Social Care Tim Rosier Ruth Hawley
UDOL Garrett Moran Katie Vione


Programme Rep of the Year for Runner-Up Winner
Arts, Humanities and Education Julia Harris Esme Blood
Business, Law and Social Sciences Tyra Tucker Samantha Short
Centre for Contemporary, Hospitality and Tourism Anesu Choto Sophie Pegler
College for Life and Natural Sciences Owen Marques Megan Bell
Engineering and Technology Ria Karavadra Bradley Davis
Health and Social Care Lauren Scarisbrick  Sarah Clarke
UDOL Joanne Dwyer Rory Colman

Congratulations to everyone who was nominated and to the runners up and winners above! It has been a great year of achievement.

Onto the next academic year


No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.