Sports Awards 2019 - the winners

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.

The 2019 Team Derby Sports Awards took place on Thursday 2nd May at the Pattonair Derbyshire Cricket Ground, with over 300 students in attendance.

Here's a run down of this year's winner:

  • Most Improved Club of the Year – Rugby League
  • Most Charitable Club of the Year – Netball Derby
  • Inclusive Club of the Year – Dance
  • Team Performance of the Year – Badminton Women’s 1st
  • BUCS Points of the Year – Badminton Men’s 1st
  • Coach of the Year – John McGrath (Men’s Football 1st team)
  • Committee of the Year – Netball Derby
  • Buxton Most Improved Club of the Year – Netball
  • Individual Athlete of the Year – Will Perrett  (Cycling)
  • Sports Team of the Year – Football Men’s 1st
  • Club of the Year – Archery
  • Sports Personality of the Year - Jenna Bierton
  • University Honours were awarded to:
  • Aaron Hayer (Football Men’s)
  • Faye Davies (Football Women’s/American Football)
  • Heather Keith (Football Women’s)
  • Lorna Bennett (Buxton Activities Officer)
  • Phillipa Taylor (Archery)
  • Tanith Wilkinson (Snowsports)

Club Development Plan Status 


  • Archery
  • Cheerleading
  • Equine
  • Netball
  • Pole Fitness
  • Rounders
  • Rugby League
  • Snowsports
  • Swimming
  • Taekwondo


  • Dance
  • Football Men’s
  • Football Women’s
  • Rugby Union Men’s
  • Trampolining


  • American Football
  • Badminton
  • Basketball Women’s
  • Climbing
  • Dodgeball
  • Rowing
  • Rugby Union Women’s
  • Table Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • Weightlifting

A massive congratulations to all who were nominated for awards - you all make your Union incredibly proud!

Check out the photo album over on Facebook

For more information about any of our Clubs - please visit our Get Involved pages.


No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.